New to Chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by newchickfl, Jan 16, 2015.

1. newchickfl

newchickfl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2015
    Florida
    Hi everyone.....a newbie here in Florida. I am working on getting my backyard ready for my new babies this April, they ship out on the 20th so I am getting eveything ready now. I have a coop and run already but from what I have been reading here it is not big enough for the 4 chickens I will have. I am getting a speckled sussex, white cochin, new hampshire red and a buff orpington. coop and run is pictured below
    [​IMG]
    I am going to try to add to the actual coop and the run i am adding another 40 inch section and a whole section on the back to make the whole run area 160 x 160. that is a big enough run for 4 chickens? oh and when is a good time to get the chick feed and grit?

thanks all

Last edited: Jan 16, 2015
  2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to join our flock. Your coop and run are more than big enough for four chickens unless you have roosters. Did you order pullets? The breeds you ordered are all docile breeds and should get along well (again, as long as there are no roosters). As for getting chick starter and grit, you can buy it anytime before the chicks arrive. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your chicks.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

I am not sure exactly how big this coop is but the desired amount of space per chicken is about 4 to 5 square feet inside the coop and 10 square feet per bird in the run. So if you think 4 fits into this space, then go for it! It looks like a nice coop.

Oh and love your avatar! Cochin? Beautiful bird!!

Great to have you aboard and welcome to our flock!

4. sunflour