New to chickens.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BKerr, Feb 6, 2015.

1. BKerr

BKerr New Egg

Feb 6, 2015
    Georgia
    Hi All!

My name is Ben and I'm new to chickens. My family eats more than a couple dozen eggs a week and we decided to build a coop and stop paying the store for the eggs. I'm a licensed egg candler and work full time for a church. I'm looking forward to gleaning all of the knowledge I can to keep my chickens healthy and productive.

I'm going to be producing in an urban environment with a lot of inner city kids "helping" me. My coop and run will be right next to my garden and I'll move the run to get some extra help with fertilizer twice a year in the lulls between my winter and spring gardens. I'm probably going to start hatching in the summer and am trying to get prepared before then. I have a German shepherd, neighborhood cats and raccoons to deal with.

I really don't know what else to put here. So, like Nick News used to say, if you want to know ask.

Ben

2. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us!

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana