new to chickens

kueblercoop

In the Brooder
Mar 18, 2015
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? I am new to chickens, after begging my husband for 3 years he said yes. This had a lot to do with my 3 year old daughters relentless begging after visiting new chicks at a friends.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? Five

(3) What breeds do you have? Three australorps and two red producers. We have a small dog that tried to "play" with one of our chicks. The kids got it out while I was upstairs, this took us from 3 red producers to 2 :(

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com? Searching for Coop designs

(5) What are some of your other hobbies? Crochet, glass etching, sewing, running, biking and open water swimming - I have a hobby issue

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share. I am a mother of 3. Eli age 8, Isaac age 5, and Emmie age 3. They love love love the chickens

Hello
frow.gif
and Welcome to BYC!
woot.gif

Glad to have you join! Feel free to make yourself at home! Do you plan on adding to your flock next year?

I would like to. I was very sad to loose one already. My coop is almost done, the coop itself is 4.5 x 4 feet with two nesting boxes and enough room for 2 roosting bars, not yet installed. My run is 4.5x8. I have an attached area that they can run while I am outside with them, but it is not hawk proof so I don't want them out there without me. The 4.5 x 8 run is enclosed fully. If I have room for 2 more I would like to add next year... but I am nervous about mixing ages :)

Hello there and welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

Sorry for your losses. Dog and chickens rarely mix well. Most dogs see all chicks and chickens as dinner unfortunately.