1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New to chicks - age differences and heat needs/food questions!! Thanks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by simpleliving, Mar 25, 2009.

1. simpleliving

simpleliving Out Of The Brooder

Mar 12, 2009
    Hi everyone-

I am completely new to this whole chickie thing and really nervous about raising chicks. I am only allowed 4 in my neighborhood and have two that I got this past Saturday (a 2 1/2 week old Welsummer and a 1 1/2 week old Buff Orp). I am picking up two more today or tomorrow - very young ones so that is what has me worried - they will be the typical 2-3 day olds (one Speckled Sussex and one Light Brahma). My biggest concern right now is how to do the heat - I have a 250 watt Red Heat Lamp right now that is about 3 feet away from the chicks on one side of my brooder (which is an wire rabbit cage with plastic deep dish bottom - only about 4 feet L by 2 1/2 feet wide and maybe 3 ft high) - it is right around 80 - 85 under there right now and I think my older two are ok with that although I am not always sure. I want them together so they all get along so would rather not have separate brooders. They sleep under it at night but tend to go to the other side during the day (when I see them in the morning and after work) but they walk around all over and don't seem too bothered. They were panting the first day when I had it lower so I moved it up. My Welsummer has been picking at the BO's tail feather though so I was wondering if that is because she is too warm or what. Anyway, I know the younger chicks will most likely need it warmer again so do I just lower it and hope the older two stay away from it but what about at night - will they be too cool away from it? I have the brooder next to our gas fireplace and hav