new to chicks, couple quick questions!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by cupman, Apr 14, 2011.

1. cupman

cupman Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 12, 2011
    Portland, OR
    Hello, I'm new to raising chicks, never have done it before, I just bought 12 on Tuesday and they are doing well, happy little guys. So here's my questions:

1) I just bought 2 more chicks, they're kind of small, maybe 60% the size of the ones I got Tuesday, do I need to worry about the others hurting them? I watched for about 10 minutes and it seemed okay, but I'm still unsure.
    2) What is the purpose of the red heat bulbs? I bought red because I was told it's better but I'm unsure why.
    3) What temperatures should it be inside my brooder? Right now it sits at around 76-78 degrees.

Thanks.

2. gumpsgirl

gumpsgirl Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Mar 25, 2008
    Virginia
    First off, welcome to the wonderful world of chicks/chickens and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

Second, if you've watched and the new chicks seem like they are doing well and not being picked on then they should do fine in the brooder with the other chicks.

Third, the red bulb is better due to the fact that it helps prevent the chicks from pecking eachother. They seem to peck moving eyelids and toes much less under a red bulb than they do under a white one. For that reason alone they are better to use.

The brooder temp. should be around 100 degrees. Some folks use thermometers in their brooder to check the temp. (I used to), but as for me, I let the chicks decide what is comfortable to them. If they are huddled together under the heat lamp, they are to cold. If they are huddled together away from the heat lamp, they are to hot. If they are spread out through out the brooder, the temperature is perfect! [​IMG]

I hope that helps! [​IMG]

3. jaydweight

jaydweight Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2011
    Pleasant Grove, UT