New to coop building and this weather!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Meg09, Dec 16, 2013.

1. Meg09

Meg09 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 4, 2013
    Hi! Im not completely new to chickens, but I am new to coop building, although my hubby isnt and hes building the coop. I had a goose, turkey and hen here years ago (we moved then moved back) But we had to tear down the coop as it was old. They all seemed to do okay as far as the weather goes, but I want to know what I can do better. Im in CA, so the winter isnt terrible, it doesnt snow. But it does get icy and has gone as low as 10-15 degrees. In the summer, oh it gets hot. Usually it stays between 90s-110s in july, aug,sept.But we have had those occasional scotchers where it gets to be about 115-120. With my goose, turkey and hen, I never did anything special, just made sure they had water and a pool for the goose (kiddie pool) In winter I never did anything, but now Im wondering if I should have?

What would you suggest to keep the coop warm/ heated or do you think I will need to? Should I put a fan in the coop in summer? (we are going to make it so the chickens cant get to it) then of course Im planning to put frozen milk jugs in there in the summer and make sure they always have water, of course. Anything else we should do? Im getting Cochins- if that makes any difference. Thanks for the advice!

2. marktoo

marktoo Chillin' With My Peeps

We're in the central valley, got our chicks in March 2 gold & 2 silver laced wyandottes. This past summer we made sure they had shade & plenty of cool water. The days over 100 we used a mister as well. They seemed to handle the heat fairly well. What I don't know is...at what age the hens are best able to handle the extreme heat. Will they be more susceptible as young adults?