new to ducks and this website. very excited.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by duckmylife, Mar 21, 2018.

1. duckmylife

duckmylife In the Brooder

Mar 20, 2018
    (1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

I actually don't have chickens, but haven't found a "backyard ducks" site - so I am excited about the duck forum here. I am new to ducks, but should have 4 ducklings arriving tomorrow.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now? And (3) What breeds do you have?

I have 2 cayuga ducklings and 2 black and white magpie ducklings arriving tomorrow. The cayugas are for me and the magpies are for my husband. They are ordered from our local feed store - and they have several other breeds coming in (that we didn't reserve), but I'm not 100% convinced that we will be able to leave without 2 addition ducklings (fawn and white runners).

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?

I was looking for people to talk to about ducks - and this was the most welcoming, helpful information I found. I'm really excited about becoming a member.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

I'm involved in a lot of disability rights / access stuff. I do a lot of animal rescue work (mostly cats). And I swim a lot (which may be why I am a duck person instead of a chicken person!)

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.

I have two kids (3.5 and 1.5), two dogs (a 2 year old lab and a 10 year old mastiff mix), and one cranky cat. We recently moved to a tiny farm (2 stall barn, 3.3 acres). Ducks are the first livestock we have, but hopefully if our duck adventure goes well we will add other animals to our family :)

Hopefully I can add some duckling photos tomorrow or Friday!

2. Texas Kiki

Texas Kiki Egg Pusher

Jul 31, 2015
    Houston, TX
    My Coop
  3. Joeschooks

Joeschooks Just clucking around

Feb 7, 2018
    Hampshire, UK
    My Coop