New to ducks. Help Please

kmwahoo

Hatching
8 Years
Nov 6, 2011
Hi all. I am a newbie to ducks and this forum. I recently purchased a new home on 10 acres with a little pond, fed from runoff and my water source heat pump. My wife and I thought it would be a good Idea to have some ducks for our boys and us to watch. A doctor who my wife works with brought us over 3 domestic mallards. I have 2 drakes and 1 hen. I built a floating duck coop and cannot seem to get the ducks to go in. We live in Nebraska so it has been getting cold. How do I get the ducks in the coop? Also what should I expect with ducks? How much do they eat and what do they eat? What should I do with the eggs I have been finding all over the place? We have had 4 other ducks land and join our three. I am trying to up load a picture of my floating coop.

111078_duck_coop.jpg

Last edited:
Domestic Mallards FLY. They may not stay. As far as the floating house...very nice, BUT..... the ducks don't "trust it".

The only way you will be able to keep them from freezing (if they stay) will be to net them and put them in an enclosure that is predator and escape proof. Inside a garage would be nice.

They have been foraging on their own (If I read your post correctly). If you contain them, you will need to feed them GAME BIRD GROWER pellets. It can be found at Agway and TSC stores, etc.

Ducks need niacin, so don't try just plain chicken food or worse crumbled corn. They will need water up to their nostrils so they can drink and clear their nostrils of "stuff". They will need bedding. I use straw. They will need to have their "home" maintained, meaning cleaning and refreshing the water, etc.

BTW, 2 drakes and one female is NOT a good combination, The poor hen may be killed because of over jealous mates.

That's the facts. Sorry for the wet blanket on your parade, but you should know ASAP. Good Luck!
welcome-byc.gif

Last edited: