New to Ducks -- Welsh Harlequins

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lesduckerables, Oct 24, 2014.

1. lesduckerables

lesduckerables New Egg

Oct 24, 2014
    Oregon
    Hi! I'm getting two Welsh Harlequin ducks tomorrow morning and I need info! This is my first time owning ducks, and I am so so worried they won't like me or I'll not know what to do! They're nine months old, so I don't really know if they'll be as social or okay with me being best friends with them. Anyway, I have some questions:
    • How old are ducks when they start breeding/laying in general?
    • How small are Welsh Harlequins in comparison to most ducks?
    • What are Welsh Harlequin's personalities like, in your experience?
    • What are their favorite foods? What stuff is really bad for them (I know-- no white bread!!) and shouldn't be given?
    • Can they eat lentils?
    • Should they be in an enclosed area? There's 12 acres of property that they could go on, but I don't want them running away(lol)
    • How fast do ducks get acquainted to new people?
    • Are Welsh Harlequins unique or different from other ducks in any way?
    • If they're outside, do they need grit given to them by me?
    • Do female WHs have loud quacks?
    • Should I have more than two?
    • How much could I sell ducklings for, when they have them?

Thanks so much!!! <3 <3

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Welcome and congratulations!

First, they must be kept safe. At nine months old, they are old enough to lay, but a change in their environment can stop that.

Many many critters like to eat ducks. They may seem to come out of nowhere. Be sure the ducks are secure.

Since they are new to your place, they will need to be kept in a safe and secure pen - no roaming around - for I would say a couple of weeks. So the pen needs to be big enough for them to spend all their time in.