New to forum & chickens. Free range or coop?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by wdglide, Aug 3, 2010.

1. wdglide

wdglide New Egg

Aug 1, 2010
    Friendsville
    Hi. My wife and I just moved from Fla to E. Tennessee. We are in an old restored farmhouse with a large 100 yr old barn. The barn is filled with old, but dry and non-moldy hay.

We are thinking about getting a 4-5 egg-laying chickens. We are brand, spanking, new to the chicken world. In fact we are new to the farm world in general. We are both NY > FLA > Tenn transplants.

I have an option of letting them free range around the barn (with 3 lamancha goats) or building a coop near the house. I was hoping to keep costs low. I have existing out-building I can use. I also have yrs of carpentry experience. I am in a rural area and predators may be an issue, i.e., raccoons, possums and mabye coyotes (though I have never heard one around here).

My question is: Free range or coop? Which is better for a total newbie - in my situation?

Thanks in advance.
    Phil

2. The Tinman

The Tinman Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 10, 2010
    Fairfield County CT
    Free range during the day and coop at night. The hay I would be careful with. It may be dry and mold free but there could be all kinds of stuff living in it.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
  3. ranchhand

ranchhand Rest in Peace 1956-2011

Aug 25, 2008
    SC
    Quote:I agree with the simplest approach. but be aware that some predators hunt during the day as well as at night. Raccoons in particular will come out in daylight, especially when there are young ones to feed.

The hay might be reused as mulch for your new vegetable garden? [​IMG]

[​IMG]

4. gaduke

gaduke Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 20, 2009
    S.W. Kentucky
    [​IMG] From Ky!

5. wdglide

wdglide New Egg

Aug 1, 2010
    Friendsville
    Thanks for the quick replies.

I just climbed to the top of the hay loft. There are loads of coon poop up there. I mean LOADS!