New to hatching- give me some advice....

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by clairabean, Dec 13, 2010.

1. clairabean

clairabean Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2010
    Kootenays of BC!
    Ok, obviously I am a newbie at this. Short story, a broody hen, five eggs due to hatch on Christms, eager kids. The hen is out with my other 11 hens (and 1 roo). I can leave the chicks in the coop with Mama and the rest, right? Do I need to seperate? And how do I feed them chick starter, when the rest of the flock gets laying pellets?

I am off to candle the eggs this morning... Mama is a sweet, gentle hen. I am hoping she doesn't get bullied.

2. saladin

saladin Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 30, 2009
    the South
    It is always best to have the hen and her chicks separate. This should have been done when she first started sitting; to late for that now.

Everything may be fine, but often the other hens and the cock will eat the young chicks.

3. HHandbasket

HHandbasket The Chickeneer

Quote:How do people who hatch their chicks naturally, without incubators and brooders, ever get any chicks, and how does the species reproduce without human interference, if the other chooks in the flock will eat young chicks? Just curious, as we are looking at bators now and debating the pros and cons of hatching some of our own eggs in the spring. We've discussed the pros and cons of letting a broody hen do all the work vs. using mechanical means and human intervention (the latter is never my first choice, but it may be best if the other chickens will eat the babies). I see people all the time with large flocks and the hens with her babies are running around, intermixed in the flock, and have never heard of other flockmates eating chicks until now! Eww, that's gotta be an ugly sight to see! I didn't even realize that was a potential issue... I may decide not to hatch my own after all. Thank you for enlightening us about that... yuck! I had no idea.