New to hatching my own chicks

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Brom014, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Brom014

Brom014 New Egg

Jan 19, 2014
    So I am new to hatching my own chicks and have a few questions and will also take what ever tips y'all are willing to throw my way, so here goes. First how soon do I need to put my eggs into the incubator after they have been laid? I'm not always standing right there as it happens and when I collect eggs sometimes they are cold or obviously just laid due to being very warm. Second I have heard if I crack an egg, say while cooking it and see a "red spot" in or near the yoke then that means it is fertilized??? Third... I have heard that you candle the eggs at 5 days, if there is no chick inside do y'all still eat the eggs at that point due to them being in a heated environment for 5 days and finally how critical is it to turn the eggs every 24 hours, say if we are gone for the weekend??? Ok that's all I got, I really do appreciate all the input, thanks everyone

2. rayray983

rayray983 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2013
    cushman arkansas
    Okay I'll try to answer now a expert but 1 chicken eggs can be stored in a cool room pointy end down for up to 7 days before they start losing fertility 2nd yes the red dot should mean its growing and is fertile but it has been incubated for a few days 3rd candle at day 7 and I would not recommend eating the eggs remember incubators are excellent places for bacteria to grow as well as chicks and a min of 3 turns a day is reccomended if the egg is left unturned the chick and yolk can stick to the side of the egg and not form properly I do believe there is a article in learning center on the site incubation 101 or something like that is a lot of help I strongly recommend you visit the learning center hope it helps

3. rayray983

rayray983 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 30, 2013
    cushman arkansas
    Not a expert*

4. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011