1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New to hens in Ireland!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Irish hen lady, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Irish hen lady

Irish hen lady Out Of The Brooder

Feb 16, 2016
    Ireland
    Hi everyone!
    I stumbled across this site recently, and I thought I'd better stick around! Some great advice and hopefully some hand-holding for me as I navigate my way to becoming an experienced hen lady!
    I live in rural Ireland, we've just moved to a place where we've space to keep some hens... Yay! My other half has kept hens before, but I'm a total newbie. We have 6 red laying hens, 4 speckled (I assume F1) Welsummer x Plymouth Barred Rock... A mix of pullets and POL amongst these, and our latest additions, two white leghorn pullets. We've a lovely, spacious grassy paddock for them, and I spend way too much of my day laughing at the antics of them... Some of them are funnier than some people I know :-D
    I'm looking forward to getting to know the site better, but even after a few hours spent hopping from thread to thread, I've increased my knowledge already, so thanks for that!
    My first port of call is to try to resolve the source of much debate... One of our speckled hens is, well, maybe a roo.... Argh... There, I've written it down which makes me have to prepare myself that my denial has been in vain... So, once I figure out how to post pics, it's off to the Big Fat Is It a Rooster thread with me!

2. CTKen

CTKen Monkey business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator