1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

New to Manchester TN

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Frankm, Oct 17, 2015.

1. Frankm

Frankm Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2015
    Manchester TN
    Hi I moved to Manchester last year from S.Fla. I'm new to raising chickens I have about 40 that I bought from Tractor Supply, Barred rock, Road Island Reds and a few other mixes. I just bought a pair of Polish Laced at the fair, I love them and I think I would like to get some other fancy type chickens. My problem is I have 3 Road Island red and 2 Barred Rock roosters, I like having roosters, i think the are so beautiful, One of the Barred Rocks is kinda mean but they all get along with each other but I feel I should get rid of a couple of them and not sure how to. People tell me to eat them but I have them more as pets and as a hobby. I like giving eggs to my coworkers. I would like to find someone close to me that would like them or maybe trade and educate me more on raising chickens.
    Thanks, Frank

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC, Frank. Glad you decided to join our flock. You can always list the birds you want to remove from your flock on Craigslist. You can also talk to your local feed store. They may know of someone who would like to have them. They may even have a bulletin board you can advertise them on. You might also try checking with your local 4h. Some of the students might like to have them. If you haven't done so already, definitely check out our Learning Center at https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center. There is lots of useful information there. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Cheers.

1 person likes this.