New to Muscovies!

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by doubleatraining, Sep 15, 2012.

1. doubleatraining

doubleatraining Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 25, 2011
    Franklinton, NC
    I'm actually pretty new to ducks in general. I hatched a Welsh Harlequin duckling a few months ago and she has been raised with chicks because there weren't any local ducklings her age. A few weeks ago I bought some scovies: choc pied, black pied, and barred? hopefully all are ducks. If all are ducks then I'm going to add a choc pied drake to them and be finished buying adult ducks.

Questions:
    - When are muscovies "mature"(laying, breeding)?
    - I've heard they won't cross breed with the WH because they prefer their own....something about being in the goose family?
    - Is there a color genetics chart somewhere so I can figure out WHAT color the barred? looking one it and what I might get out of the breedings next year??

THANKS!!

2. WillsC

WillsC Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2012
    They will lay when they are darn good and ready lol but as a rule 6-8 months.

They will cross with your Welsh.

3. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    My muscovy are 6 months and one of the 4 hens just laid her first egg yesterday. If they have not started by the end of this month, they probably won't until spring.

I have heard that they will not breed with other ducks that they are not raised with. I did have muscovy and rouens at one point (the rouens were younger) and the drake wanted nothing to do with those ducks. If there are no other mates, it probably wouldn't matter. I have also read that mule ducks (muscovy crosses) don't have great a great fertility rate and many commercial breeders of crosses use artificial insemination. The offspring that do hatch will be sterile.

That being said, welshies are little. Muscovy drakes are huge and do a fair amount of stomping in their mating. I would worry about a little duck with a muscovy drake.