New to owning chickens..have a very broody hen.. can I

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by JanaBanana1, Mar 6, 2011.

1. JanaBanana1

JanaBanana1 In the Brooder

Feb 22, 2011
    One of the hens I got yesterday is very broody. I am new to this whole chicken thing, but am enjoying the experience [​IMG] Can you tell me, could I put a fertilized egg under her and would she raise it as her own? I don't have a rooster, but my friend does. Or could I put a day or 2 old chick under her and would she raise it? Has this been done?
    Thanks

2. Josie

Josie Songster

Jan 3, 2008
    California
    I have read about people on this site doing both of those things, but the norm seems to be putting the eggs under her and letting her incubate and raise them. The chick thing can get dicey.

3. JanaBanana1

Feb 22, 2011
    Thanks Josie =}

4. TinyLittleFarm

TinyLittleFarm Songster

Mar 8, 2010
    Wisconsin
    But don't put just one under her! A baby chick needs at least one sibling to be happy. My broody had seven eggs under her and only two hatched. I'd put at least four under her.

5. JanaBanana1

Feb 22, 2011
    Quote:Were these fertilized eggs you got or do you have a rooster? That is more chickens than I would want if all 4 hatched though...we have a smaller area and already have 5.

6. TinyLittleFarm

TinyLittleFarm Songster

Mar 8, 2010
    Wisconsin
    They were fertilized. I have a roo and all the eggs we open are fertilized, so I don't see why these wouldn't be. There were 3 that never grew and two more that developed nearly all the way and then died, so the momma kicked them out of the nest. The other two little peepers were born this last weekend.