~ New to peeps/chickens ... need all kinds of advice

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Julie_in_PA, May 15, 2008.

1. Julie_in_PA

Julie_in_PA Out Of The Brooder

May 15, 2008
    Southern PA
    I'm new to peeps/chickens. My granparents had a farm with chickens ever since I can remember ... so I know "a little" ... but I've never owned any myself ... so I don't know nearly enough !

I ordered our first peeps today (through Milroy Farm in Quakertown PA) and ordered 75 ! My granparents plan to get SOME of them from me .... so I'm not sure how many we'll end up with ... but we'll probably still have alot.

Anyway, I need as much advice as you all are willing to give ! I know very little about this, and have been reading (online research) some about their care, etc.
    SO any helpful words of advice ?? What should I expect once my peeps arrive ? What equipment/supplies/etc. will I need to have prepared for their arrival ?

Any helpful advice would be GREATLY appreciated [​IMG][​IMG]

Last edited: May 15, 2008
  2. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    1st thing you'll need is a BIG brooder and a few heat lamps.

3. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    And [​IMG]

4. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

Welcome the the madness. Wow....75!??? [​IMG] You jumped in with BOTH feet hu!?? [​IMG]