1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

NEW TO PIGEONS... ANY ADVICE?!

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by GOLDENSEABRIGHT, Feb 16, 2016.

1. GOLDENSEABRIGHT

GOLDENSEABRIGHT Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2014
    Hey, I am new to pigeoms and i was wonder a couple of things.
    1) Can i put two different breeds in one coop?
    2) Will jacobins return to their coop after flying?
    3) How tall should a pen be for only one or two pair.
    I have tried researching these things but no luck. Please reply with answers.
    - GS

2. nchls school

nchls school Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2015
    It has been many years since I had jacobin pigeons; at least 35 years. The birds I had flew very little. They are beautiful. If you do decide to get more than one breed, choose breeds that are not aggressive. Fantails, pouters, etc.

1 person likes this.
  3. Hokum Coco

Hokum Coco Overrun With Chickens

Dec 6, 2012
    New Brunswick,Canada

Last edited: Feb 16, 2016
  4. GOLDENSEABRIGHT

Mar 4, 2014
    Thanks. Also, when do parlors and jacobins start laying.

5. laughingdog

laughingdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 16, 2011
    Newport Tennessee
    Parlors start laying at three months old, Jacobins about seven months old.
    I trimmed my Jacobins and trained them to free fly and they looked ungainly like bats more than birds flying.. Their landing sucks though. Lol

1 person likes this.
  6. GOLDENSEABRIGHT

Mar 4, 2014
    Hey, thinking about buying some blue sultan pigeons, or it is what this guy calls them, anybody have any advice?

7. loftkeeper

loftkeeper Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 7, 2013
    get pic of birds not sure what a sultan is

8. jak2002003

jak2002003 Overrun With Chickens

Oct 24, 2009
    Thailand