New to poultry raising and loving it!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by K10mitten, Oct 7, 2016.

1. K10mitten

K10mitten Just Hatched

Oct 7, 2016
    Michigan
    Hello! I am new to poultry raising as of the spring of '16 and I have been very happy with my flock! I have been talking about wanting chickens for a long time and finally my boyfriend finally told me just go get some already so I did! I got 6 chickens, 2 Leghorns, 2 Rhode Island red, 1 silver and 1 gold laced Wyandotte. We went back to get more chickens and they had khaki campbell ducklings and we couldn't help ourselves so we got 2 of them as well!

We built a 4x6 coop with a 12' run based off of what we found on this website and what was available to us. I like to call it Fort McCluckin' as it has held steady and proven secure for my flock. I also built a chicken tractor out of PVC (experiment, could have done better on it, but it gets the job done) and we just got a landscaping pool upgrade for the ducks (instead of kiddy pool) so they can dive to their hearts desire.

So far so good, I let them out when I can to dive in the pool and graze grass in a fenced in area. We are going into our first winter so I'm hoping to make it through successfully with all my flock healthy and happy. I love coming out and watching them interact and forage, and they help me clean my fridge out when I can't eat veggies fast enough!

I get 2 white eggs a day steady from the Leghorns and one duck egg a day, so I think the other duck may be male as they weren't sexed. All the chickens were sexed accurately and are beautiful hens. I also get 1-3 brown eggs a day, just depends. I didn't get into chickens for the eggs so as long as I get some I am happy. We already have plenty for ourselves and to give away to friends and family. We have thought about adding to the flock next spring, maybe more chickens, but we will see how this first winter goes.