New To Quail - Advise required

Discussion in 'Quail' started by makarim, Jun 20, 2011.

1. makarim

makarim New Egg

Jun 20, 2011
    Hello Everyone

Thank you for reading my post. I am very new to quails and have 8 ( 6 females + 2 males ) in my backyard. They are kept in a coop which is cleaned weekly and is quite large so the quails have plenty of space to run around. It has hay bedding and plenty of hiding places but I seem to have the following problem.

I brought my quails about three weeks ago from a respected quail breeder and I was told the quails were 6 - 7 weeks old. When I went to purchse them there was plenty of eggs inside his coop where the quils came from and he informed me that they were breed for laying. However as of yet my 6 quils have not layed a single egg. They are getting plently of natural daylight as in the UK now the daylight is about 16 hours long. They get plenty of food and fresh clean water but no eggs

I am feeding them Dodson & Horrell Layer Pellets which has 16% protein. Could it be that this has such a low protein rate for quails thats why they are not laying. They only layed the first day I purchased them and then stopped. I am now going to chage to a tradional Quail Layers Pellets which has 20% protein. Would this make a difference

Quail eggs are very expensive in the UK so I purchased them for the eggs but not a egg in sight

I dont tend to use artifical lighting to force them to lay

Please advise on what the issue could be

I know they may be happy in the coop because they are always running around, eating, drinking and cheerping

Also I noticed that their poo is a dark black - brown colour. Not runny but a paste like. Is this normal

Thank you.

2. miss_thenorth

miss_thenorth Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2007
    SW Ont, Canada
    16% protein. Could it be that this has such a low protein rate for quails thats why they are not laying