New to raising baby chicks in the north east ! Help

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by kateyberberian, Jan 24, 2017.

1. kateyberberian

kateyberberian New Egg

Jan 24, 2017
    Tiverton Rhode Island
    Hi all ! I am fairly new to the chicken raising lifestyle. In moving to Rhode Island last April, we adopted 7 different chickens, each different breeds who were all raised together and about a year old. Unfortunately, we have lost 4 to disease and predators but we are going to expand our flock. We are getting 6 4 week old silkie chicks later on today and I am nervous seeing as I have never raised chicks before. Does anyone have any helpful hints or advice they can contribute ? I know since it's winter here in the north east, I will be keeping them inside until they are atleast 8 weeks old. Our three older chickens will be meeting the babies in short play dates throughout the next couple weeks. Also, I know I will need to get a different type of feed for these chicks, but at what age did y'all start using layer pellets for your chicks ? Anything anyone has to contribute will be extremely helpful!

2. kimberley848

kimberley848 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 8, 2014
    So. Cal
    I've never raised any babies, mine were 10wks when I got them (3+ yrs ago), but you should be feeding a chick/grower feed. Layer feed should not be fed to the chicks until they actually start laying. The calcium in the layer feed isn't good for their organs until they're actually laying. Your older hens can be fed the same grower feed, just make sure calcium is available to them for egg laying.