New to Raising Backyard Chickens: ANY ADVICE WELCOME!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by eugenechick, Mar 4, 2014.

1. eugenechick

eugenechick New Egg

Feb 24, 2014
    Eugene, OR
    Hi all,

I'm new to raising backyard chickens. I purchased my 3 cute little chickies about 2 weeks ago and I'm just now getting their coop together for when they are ready to go outside. Like I said before, I'm completely new to this and would love any advice from you all who are experienced and have been through the ringer with raising chickens in an urban setting ( I should mention that I'm raising chickens solely for laying purposes). I would love to know any personal experiences, stories, trials, dilemmas, lessons learned, anything at all! I want to know as much about urban chicken raising as I possibly can so I can give my chicks the best environment possible and avoid costly mistakes :). This is a great resource and I'm so happy to be apart of such a wonderful online community :)

2. CrazyChookLady5

CrazyChookLady5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 6, 2013
    Australia, NSW
    hi and [​IMG]
    I live on a farm, so I can really help you, but I just want to say that chickens are addictive, so in a few years you'll probably have 10 times the amount you wanted to start of with!! [​IMG]

3. eugenechick

eugenechick New Egg

Feb 24, 2014
    Eugene, OR
    Thank you for the warm welcome! Hopefully I own more land by then ;P

4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    The Learning Center is the best place to start.

If you want to meet people in your area go to "where am I , where are you," in the social forum. You can locate and post on your state thread.

Also in the social forum you can read "Stories and pictures of my chickens," real life experiences.

5. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
  6. Kelsie2290