New to raising chickens - have questions about wintering them...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by redonthehead, Nov 8, 2010.

1. redonthehead

redonthehead Out Of The Brooder

Nov 5, 2010
    Hi!

I'm new to raising chickens. We got our first bunch of them early this summer. We've overcome issues with raccoons and are learning about what makes our feathered family happy. We have 38 chickens, including some roosters, hens, and pullets who aren't laying yet. It's a whole mixed bag of breeds too... some brown leghorns, black leghorns, a buff orphington rooster, americanas, one meat hen we've kept as a pet (the kids got attached to her when she grew in these pretty orange feathers instead of white) and several other varieties I can't remember the names of at the moment.

I live in NB, Canada, and as we're entering winter I have some questions about keeping them through the winter.

1. Can laying hens be out in the snow at all or is it best they stay indoors? Their coop is plenty big enough for the number of hens we have, but they definitely prefer being outside. [​IMG]

2. How cool can they handle it... right now it's about 8 C (around 47F) and they're outside running around the yard happy as anything.

3. What sort of heat source is best for those really cold days/nights? Currently we just have a light bulb lighting the pen from 4am-8:30pm, but in the winter I'm concerned about them not being warm enough through the night, but I want something that isn't really going to light up the coop much so they can get their rest at night.