New to raising chickens in Southern California

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by TheDietTech, Jan 3, 2014.

1. TheDietTech

TheDietTech New Egg

Jan 3, 2014
    ~~Hello everyone, I am new to raising chickens for eggs, also they will be pets, I have some questions. What should be on the inside of the coop itself beside the nesting boxes? The size of the coop itself is 4'x 6' x 4' and the run is 8' wide and 27' long with a pond. I am planning 4 hens. Should I just feed the what grows naturally in the run? I have planted natural growing seed in the run. What kind of garden scraps do they eat? I was told that I could build a insect domain in the end of the run would this provide enough food for them? Thank you for the feed back.
    Also I have pictures of our coop on my profile page

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!

Well, you will need a roost bar in the coop. For the larger breeds, a 2x4 with the 4 side up is good. If you have bantam chickens, a 2x2 works well for their smaller feet. The larger fowl do better with a lower roost bar so they don't have to jump or fly down so far. You can always put a ladder up for the high roost bars.

Also, leave some space for storage for yourself in the coop for keeping things.

You can leave the run natural for them, or plant things for them. Keep in mind that chickens will denude the entire place in short order however. LOL You can lay down sand for the if you wish. I am a HUGE fan of sand and use it in the coops, runs and even nest boxes. It is easy to keep clean, it stays dry, keeps the flies down and the smells.

Use your imagination. Chickens love to climb up high, so you could put outdoor roosting areas for them to look out over their territory.

Good luck and enjoy your babies!

Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
  3. One Chick Two

One Chick Two Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2013