new to roos

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Leah S, Dec 3, 2011.

1. Leah S

Leah S Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 13, 2011
    Just found out that we have rooster in our flock! Was wondering what I should be expecting from him? Still fairly new to raising chickens, and roosters are completely new! Is there anything special they need to eat? Are there any behaviors that I should be on the look out for?
    We actually have two and plan on only keeping one. So, we want to pick the most "gentlemanly" of the two. Any suggestions there?
    Thanks to all of you!!
    Leah

2. BeccaSmith

BeccaSmith Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2011
    Meridian, ID
    I'm new to chickens and to roos as well so I am excited to see what responses you get! Our neighbors rooster has officially decided he would rather roost with our girls, he has been in the coop every night this week when they come in for the evening. So I guess he is ours now....lol. I don't mind if our neighbors don't mind...he is a naked neck chicken and our girls really like him....so I guess it's about whatever they like! I don't plan on ever letting the eggs hatch....our girls are barred rocks and silver laced wyandottes. Also we recently adopted to chickens, both were supposed to be hens around 1 to 2 years old. We had to pick them up while it was dark because that was the best time for the previous owner to catch them while they were in their coop...so we really didn't get to see what we were getting....well the next day after bringing them home, one of them was doing a silly side step dance....I figured maybe she was just slow and special and not quite right in the brain...turns out the side step is a rooster thing, but he hasn't crowed yet...so he must be younger then a year or two! So if you see your rooster walking funny you will know what it is! That is as much help as I can give....lol.

3. Leah S

Jun 13, 2011
    "not quite right"
    hahahaha!!
    but, good to know, thanks!