New to tge chicken world

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mgarifo87, Nov 15, 2014.

1. mgarifo87

mgarifo87 Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2014
    Hello, my name is Megan and I am new to the chicken world! My boyfriend of 7 years has had chickens before but not me and we have never had Silkies before. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have done lots of reading but sometimes you have to talk to others instead of just read [​IMG] I currently have a question about chicken scratch, does it have any other purpose than just giving them something to do? I mean I know it's corn n grains n what not but someone told me that it has to do with energy or warmth or something I'm not sure but I got some today to lightly sprinkle around in their outside fenced in space to peck around at and maybe get them interested in stepping outside their coop! Some are brave and others are a little apprehensive lol they stand on the edge of the door and lean down to peck but won't step out lol. Thank you!

2. mtngirl35

mtngirl35 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2013
    Tennessee
    Hi and welcome! A lot of folks give chickens scratch for a treat and to make sure they go to roost with a full crop in the winter.

3. horselover101

horselover101 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 30, 2014
    [​IMG]

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! X2, Scratch is a good treat and fine for chickens, it mostly just does not have as much protein as their regular food so you don't want to over feed it (limit to around 10-15% of diet), some people like to give it before bed time since the whole grains take longer to digest.

5. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]And welcome to Backyard chickens

1 person likes this.
  6. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop