New to the BYC Flock

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Wolfy1972, Dec 9, 2013.

1. Wolfy1972

Wolfy1972 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 9, 2013
    Hello,

I am new to the world of chickens. I'm looking at starting a poultry farm for raising chickens for eggs and meat. I used to drive semi-truck, but due to a resent heart problem, I am now disqualified to driving truck. So in looking at what I would like to do, I thought about Doing a chicken farm. I have 1/2 acre of land that i can use to get started in raising chickens. The down side of this is I have absolutely no idea of what when where or how to go about it. Basically I need all the help i can get.

Thanks,
    Wolfy

2. foreverlearning

foreverlearning Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 4, 2013
    A 1/2 acre is not much room so you have to plan carefully before you bring those addictive buggers in. For layers I would go with a smaller floor size coop with levels up, or even a larger floor space coop over part of a run. Things that you want to consider:
    1) Do you want to free range or place in a run? I free range mine as many do but this leaves you open to something looking for a free chicken dinner. A secure run is great for space saving if you don't want them all over the yard during the day. (You still have to provide feed with free ranging, they just eat less of it as most of their intake is from free ranging.)
    2) Are there limits in your area on how many you can have or roosters? HOA's and city limits usually have a limit on how many you can have, don't allow roosters, or don't allow any "livestock" all together.