New to the chicken life! Please advise me!

Nrrodriguez

Hatching
May 31, 2020
Hey everyone! I am new to raising chicks. I won’t be getting mine for another 2 months but I want to make sure I have everything set up and ready for a successful process. I have several questions.
I live close to Houston Texas so it’ll be very warm by the time they arrive. Can I brood them outside? Can you brood them in a coop or it needs to be something small?

any useful advice you have to give to a first time chicken owner would be very appreciated!!!

I brood mine right in the coop from day one. I use a Mama Heating Pad brooder. (There is a thread on them here on BYC - will try to get you the link.) I got my chicks May 6. There were a few nights right after I got them that it got down to 29-30*. They were fine. They seem to feather out sooner when using the MHP. I took it out of the coop last week. The babies are just 3 weeks old, but had quit using it.

Being in Houston, your concern may be of over heating them rather than not warm enough. Nice thing about the MHP, it provides them with warmth when they need it without heating up their whole space.