New to the Chicken world

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by skylarkdancer87, Mar 26, 2011.

1. skylarkdancer87

skylarkdancer87 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 26, 2011
    Middle southern TN
    Hello all!
    My name is Anna, and I'm new to owning chickens, we live on a half acre in town. I recently purchased 4 Araucana chicks this past Tuesday and was given two bantam chicks from TSC....the bantams were MUCH smaller than the other chicks so I have them in different brooders. One of the bantam chicks passed this morning, so I went up to TSC to get the last two that they had, well one looked just like the one that had passed this morning so I was excited...well he just passed too [​IMG] I found that he had a blocked vent and I guess I was too late as I just got him this morning. The other two seem to be doing fine. The Araucanas are flourishing and getting big, already have their wing feathers, and one of the bantams has wing feathers too. [​IMG] So darn cute! I was curious to see how many of ya'll get the Marek's Vaccination? I'm just being a worried chickie mom I guess, I realize that sometimes chicks will die from stress of transport. Mine all have medicated chick starter feed, and their water has the "save-a-chick" in it, and they have their heat lamps on one side so they can move if they get too hot. Any thoughts?

2. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC!!!

If they came out of a TSC bin, they most likely have already been vaccinated for Mareks.

Good luck with the chicks!!!

3. Sorin

Sorin Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 15, 2010
    Glenfield, ny