New to The Chicken World

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by parkerchick6, Oct 14, 2013.

1. parkerchick6

parkerchick6 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 14, 2013
    Hello everyone,
    i am new to backyard chickens and would love some input.I am planning on starting a small coop (2-3) and am unsure which types of chickens to get. I live in Wisconsin so we have very cold winters. i would also like chickens that would let my small children hold and pet them. I have been doing lot of research and have been getting mixed reviews. Please give me your input and any other advice you have for a starting and maintaining a healthy flock. Thanks so much.!!!

2. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    Does egg color matter?

I would start with as many as you are allowed by law and you can afford to house. No matter how many you start with, you'll want more later - especially when you have fresh delicious eggs in your backyard.
    Several reasons:
    It's a bummer to have to buy eggs when you've done that much work.
    Chickens die more often than dogs.
    It is much harder to add to an existing flock. Birds that grow up together get along much better.

Many of the breeds you'll consider were developed in cold climates without heat so I wouldn't sweat the cold.

Brown eggs: Chantecler, Buckeye, Orpington, Jersey Giant, Wyandotte, Welsummer, Plymouth Rock

White eggs: Holland, Minorca, Dorking, Ancona

green/blue eggs: Ameraucana
    Personal favorites from the above list are Jersey Giants, Welsummers and Minorcas

Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  3. BrendaJ

BrendaJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2012
    Oregon