New to the goose thing - what to feed the little guys???????

Discussion in 'Geese' started by TarHeelBlue, Jun 12, 2011.

1. TarHeelBlue

TarHeelBlue Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2011
    Yukon, Oklahoma
    I have 3 pilgrim eggs in the bator just about ready for their coming out party (one is rockin and rollin) YEAH [​IMG] I hope they all make it, I started with 5 eggs and 2 weren't fertile, so down to 3 with one of them questionable. this is my first time with geese - what do I feed the goslings?? I have plenty of baby chick food, just not sure if this will work for them?? HELP please [​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  2. goosedragon

goosedragon Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2009
    Central NC
    Quote:That should work as long as it isn't too old. Chick Starter goes down hill fast in heat. Since you are TARHEELBLUE i will assume it is hot where you are. Check that chick starter BEFORE you need it I have had it go moldy overnight in hot humid weather. Game bird feed makes a good starter for waterfowl too and the sooner you get them humting for their own grass the better off they will be too.

3. scratch'n'peck

scratch'n'peck Overrun With Chickens

Oct 31, 2008
    West Michigan
    My Coop
    It is also generally recommended that they NOT have medicated starter, like many chick starters can be. If you get a starter that is not enriched with niacin you should supplement the feed with either nutritional or brewer's yeast or ground up niacin pills from the drug store (But people say not the slow niacin). Waterfowl who are deficient in niacin can develop leg problems. If you live near a Tractor Supply store they have a starter that is appropriate for chicks and waterfowl. And yes they love grass.

Goslings are so cute and Pilgrims are great!

4. TarHeelBlue

Jan 2, 2011
    Yukon, Oklahoma