New to the group

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sharonea1959, Sep 16, 2018.

1. Sharonea1959

Sharonea1959 Hatching

Sep 16, 2018
    First thank you for this group, you people have helped many times already.
    I am new to this bird thing. have always had budgies, canaries, and love birds.
    Got me first Guinea Rooster in March 2018, he was being murdered by his current flock, so I took him. then got a hen and she died. Found another and my flock has been growing. Bought 6 few days olds, including a white, lavender and black. Incubated some eggs, got two more, had to undo the shell of one. then my original hen hatched out 5 more, 2 died. Just put the remaining 3 5 week olds in with the 10 week olds, and my pair of 5 month old black silks, Just go 3 more 5 week old silkies, and my 5 weeks old keets are terrified of them, which is why I put all the guines together, except for the original adults, that will come later.
    Any body any idea why the keets are afraid of the chicks, I thought it should be the other way around. Would this be same with the older keets, Could I let everyone out in the coup, and the young silkies be OK, or do you think the older keets would attack them?
    I am from small town Ontario, Canada, the nearest large city is Kingston I am approx. 25 miles north of that city.

2. Chick-N-Fun

Chick-N-Fun Feather & Fur Whisperer

Jun 26, 2014
    Upstate NY
    Welcome to our FUNomenal flock! :celebrate

3. FrankieDoodle

FrankieDoodle Crossing the Road

Jul 29, 2017
    California
    :frow Welcome to BYC!!! :woot

4. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
  5. 007Sean

007Sean Enabler

Oct 25, 2015
    South Central Texas
    Howdy :frow and Welcome to Backyard Chickens.

Thanks for joining us! :woot

6. Texas Kiki

Texas Kiki Don't lie. Don't cheat your way through life.

Welcome to BYC!
    :yesss: We are glad you joined our flock!