New to the hobby...

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by Inkydragon, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Inkydragon

Inkydragon New Egg

Jan 29, 2012
    Hello!

My name is Sarah, and I'm a recent addition to the site. I'm a veterinary technician living just outside of St. Louis, MO.

I've loved chickens since I can remember. I grew up in Bangkok, Thailand, and when I was about 6 years old, I begged my parents for some baby chickens...despite the fact we lived on the 30th floor of an apartment building, they relents, and brought home two for my birthday. They flourished, despite our lack of adequate chicken-space, and every day I would take them down to our playground on the ground floor to let them forage and scratch around. Thinking back, the whole situation seems a bit funny. When they got to be a bit too big, we found a nice temple that would keep them on the grounds as pets.

Since then, I have moved around a lot. When I was in high school, we were living in KY and we had a nice little farm house. We picked up a dozen chicks at feed store and I once again embarked on the adventures of chicken-keeping. Unfortunately, many of those chicks turned out to be roosters who proceeded to terrorize my family for months. They would not fight amongst themselves, either...but instead, work together and gang up on the poor unsuspecting hens and take turns. We used to have to exit the house with a broom in order to defend ourselves from sneaky rooster attacks. The day I came home to discover my mom and my sister on top of my mom's car, where the rooster could not reach them and would not leave them alone, was the day we all decided we had to get rid of all the roosters.

Understandably, the poor bedraggled hens were relieved, but still flighty with out attempts to befriend them.

We moved again. Sold the farm. And the chickens. And here I am years and years later, with my own little farm and the start of my own little flock. :)