New to this!!!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by Imthgirl, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Imthgirl

Imthgirl Hatching

Jun 5, 2012
    Hello everyone! As a mother's day gift, I received 7 hens and I couldn't have been happier. We just finished their new & improved coop with a run and they will be going in it tomorrow. We are so excited!

But since I am new to this, I have just a couple questions. Out of my 7 girls, 5 are all the same age (around 9 weeks old) and 2 are 2 months old (almost 3 months old). Currenlty they are all eating medicated chick starter. My question is, what do I feed them after this and when do I make the switch? Also, do I provide scratch on the floor of the run? I have also heard of people using oyster shells and wanted to know what this was all about.

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie!!!!

2. ailurophile23

ailurophile23 Songster

Dec 21, 2010
    VA
    [​IMG]

Glad you are joining us on BYC! As for the feeding, you will find varying opinions on what is best to feed and there are lots of options. As a starting point, I found it easiest to use FlockRaiser and I switched my chickens to this around 18 weeks of age. I do supplement with crushed oyster shell (for calcium) and grit - I offer it free choice and also mix a handful or two into their feed containers. The reason I used FlockRaiser is that the protein level is a little higher and when I used Layena (lower protein) the chickens tended to resort to feather picking. I use scratch sparingly - mostly as a treat to get them to come inot the coop when I need to put them up or as a bedtime snack in the winter for extra calories. A good pelleted or crumble food should provide all the basics. I like to supplement with leafy greens when mine can't free-range as it helps give good yolk color.

1 person likes this.
  3. Imthgirl

Imthgirl Hatching

Jun 5, 2012