New to turkey raising - mating question

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by SDRanchLDY1, Jun 26, 2019.

1. SDRanchLDY1

SDRanchLDY1 In the Brooder

May 25, 2019
    Hi Everyone! I'm new to raising meat birds and have two white broad breasted turkeys. One turned out to be a tom and the other a hen. We are planning to process them this fall (even though I would much rather keep them as pets) but that was the plan from the start. Anyway - the tom is starting to try to mate with the hen. He gets up on her back and fumbles around for awhile. It looks pretty painful for the hen. Any advice? I know he's too big to actually mate successfully, but I don't want her getting hurt in the meantime.

Next time we are getting a pet turkey, but will get a heritage so it can live a more normal life, breed and live longer. Thanks for the help!

2. R2elk

R2elk Free Ranger

Feb 24, 2013
    Natrona County, Wyoming
    BBWs can mate naturally and the best chance for successful natural breedings is by using yearlings.

If you are concerned about the hen getting injured, either separate her from the tom or put a turkey saddle on her for protection.

3. SDRanchLDY1

SDRanchLDY1 In the Brooder

May 25, 2019
    Thank you R2elk! That is great to know! Our turkeys are only 4 months old, but the Tom is huge! Is the saddle something I should leave on longterm day and night? Or do they go through phases where they breed for awhile and then stop? He steps on her neck quite a bit in the process which scares the hell out of me, but she always wiggles out of it. I have to say I don't think my Tom is very graceful lol.

4. R2elk

R2elk Free Ranger

Feb 24, 2013
    Natrona County, Wyoming
    Definitely leave the saddle on any time that they feel that it is breeding season. BB turkeys have their breeding seasons really messed up because the hatcheries have been selectively breeding them to have fertile eggs available all year long.