New urban flock in TX

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Hishigata, Sep 28, 2012.

1. Hishigata

Hishigata Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2012
    Hello,

I am a newbie to urban chicken farming but have some experience with chickens. I currently have two lovely girls named Salt and Pepper. Salt is feisty lakenvelder and Pepper is a very mellow ameraucana (both pictured below). The girls love to eat cottage cheese, grapes and any new plants in my garden. They live in a wee coop but spend most of their time running around the backyard making a mess of the compost piles.

I joined BYC when one of my hens got sick and died last month. My other chicken, Salt, was weak, lethargic and breathing heavily when I found her. I got lots of good advice and now Salt is better and as rambunctious as ever. I am currently debating getting a new hen to replace the one I lost. If anyone has advice let me know.

I also want to ask if anyone else has a lakenvelder. My girl Salt is a real handful. She barks like a rooster every morning from 7:30 until around 9:00 and I don't think the neighbors are too happy. She also picks fights with people. The other day she fluffed out her neck feathers like dilophosaurus and pecked my roommates hand so hard she drew blood. Further proof that modern aves has saurian roots. This is not the first time she has attacked someone and usually does it while we are gardening. Perhaps thinking we are pilfering her worms? Anyone have success teaching an unruly lakenvelder to have some manners? So far we put her in the pen when she misbehaves and that helps a little.

Thanks!

[​IMG]

2. Big A Chickens

Big A Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2012
    Palmetto, Georgia
    Hi and [​IMG] So glad you joined us!!!!![​IMG]

3. liz9910

liz9910 Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2012
    Northern California