New with chicks Questions!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Ckn woman, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Ckn woman

Ckn woman Out Of The Brooder

Mar 28, 2009
    Ok-- I am new to the chick biz and I have had my babies for 5 days. I am constantly watching them and cleaning out their Brooder. I read earlier that it is normal for them to nap on and off during the day and pick their feathers. I often worry about body mites because they are picking at themselves and I worry if I keep their brooder too clean sometimes. I change it like 3-4 times a day. The peeps are also getting shavings in their water and then scratching it until it soaks thier shavings so then I have to clean again. I am giving them Duramycin-10 in their water but I am not sure why. I was told at the farm store I needed it and they didn't have mediacted food just Dumor starter. Everyone that has seen them says I can't believe you still have all 10 of them. They are also still sleeping up next to each other and I think the temp should be good for them. I am just a worry wart about this whole process. I just want to make sure I succed at this new found hobby of mine. Oh btw-- they are having loose poops still (some). Am I doing what is right or am I worring too much? any body else out there with the same thoughts???

Natalie:/

Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  2. ChickBond 007

ChickBond 007 Licensed to Cull

Feb 26, 2009
    Madison County, Iowa
    Hi Natalie,
    I'm new to chickens too but wanted to welcome you to BYC. Keep reading, you'll learn so much here.
    My new chicks are constantly kicking shavings into their water too. It will help if you raise the waterer on a piece of 2x4 board, this will not eliminate the shavings but lessen the amount of them in the waterer.
    I'm cleaning once daily. That seems to be enough.