NEW

Johnny123

Chirping
5 Years
Apr 28, 2014
hi, I'm new to BYC and a first time chicken owner. My wife, calliescluckers picked up about 70 day olds today (layers, turkeys, meat) and we thought we were well prepared but she's telling me that temperature has been an issue so far (not high enough). I'm out of town but will be going home on the weekend to build a proper brooder for the little fellas. Right now we have them in a wooden box in the basement but after learning that the dust created from them isn't the healthiest we will be relocating them to a shed in the back garden. So if anyone has any suggestions/ideas on the construction of the new brooder please let me know.... size/bird, insulation, ventilation, wattage, comfort, etc. I'm thinking I'll make it big enough to house more than what we have right now. Since plywood comes in 4'x8' I'll probably make it multiples of that (in case I decide to reuse the materials) I also had the idea of an ohio/hover within a larger enclosed brooder, vented of course. Is that overkill? The main thing is that I get them out of the house and into a new comfort zone without upsetting them too much and of course saving time and money. Any tips are appreciated

Kelsie2290

Free Ranging
Premium member
8 Years
Feb 18, 2011
Ohio
Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! Check out the BYC Coops section on brooders, there maybe some designs there that are what you are looking for https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/homemade-chicken-brooder-designs-pictures if you click on the link for the individual brooders many of them have detailed plans
You might also like to check out the BYC Learning Center in general, lots of good articles on all aspects of chicken keeping. https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center And it is always fun to check out your state thread for chicken keeping neighbors https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/270925/find-your-states-thread

cavemanrich

Enabler
6 Years
Apr 6, 2014
Melrose Park Illinois