Newb with a Roll-X

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by trevj, Mar 14, 2013.

1. trevj

trevj Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2013
    I've been carting a Roll-X around for about 20 years, waiting for a decent opportunity to put it to use.

Got it super cheap ($125, IIRC) and it came with one egg grid and an auto turner. Even then, it was a deal!

Recently mentioned to a friend that I had the incubator and that I was looking for some fertile eggs to test run it, and the next day, 3 dozen eggs showed up. They have been in the incubator for 4 days now, and the turner is reliably turning them.

The temperature control is working well. I have a analog style thermometer and hygrometer in the incubator, and all seems well with the world.

Now, to the point.

What I did not get, was the proper water bottle. It requires the one that goes in from the top, rather than the new style that sits outside. No problem. Gonna make that. Been adding a bit of water twice a day, the humidity has been floating between 40 and 50 percent.

Can someone tell me about how deep off the bottom I need the end of the bottle spout to be? Or am I pretty much going to have to build it and adjust to fit?

I am reasonably competent with a metal lathe, figure to use some plastic tube and thread the outside a bit to put an adjustable nut on it.

Just trying to get an idea where the bottom of the tube should end up.

Thanks all!

Lots of great info here on the BYC site!

Cheers
    T

2. Bill 101

Bill 101 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 1, 2013
    Oregon