newb with rooster seperation question

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Smithingell, Aug 10, 2013.

1. Smithingell

Smithingell New Egg

Aug 8, 2013
    Hello all. First off, I apologize if this has been covered on here before. I searched but cant find an answer.
    I'm very new to raising chickens. I have 8 amber link (amber white, amber star?) and 4 new hampshire. My wife got 2 ducks at the same time, but those are really just pets. My initial purpose was just eggs, so I bought what should have been all hens, but got 1 amber link rooster in the mix. So I ended up will 11 hens and 1 rooster, which seems to be a good mix.
    Well, since I have him already, and that in itself does not present any problems (like with neighbors), I figured I would keep him and raise some chicks as well. My thought is that I'd raise the chicks for meat, and keep the originals as breeding stock and egg layers. My problem is that my wife is a bit sqeamish, and cracking an egg and finding a partially developed chick would be enough to put me and the chickens in the doghouse.
    I know I can seperate the rooster from the hens, and to keep him from seeing them, but how long can he be seperated and how far away? Is it just a sight thing, and they can be seperated by jusst a single wall? Should I seperate him for 3 weeks, then let him back in with the hens for a week, or should it be more like 1 week apart, 1 week togethor?
    BTW, they are about 6 months old now, and all are doing great. Have actually already seen 2 eggs just the other day.

Thanks for any help.
    Bill

2. appps

appps Overrun With Chickens

Aug 29, 2012
    Australia
    Lol unless you start bringing in eggs to cook that have been sitting under a hen for a week or two she won't get chicks. I don't know bout you but I wouldn't eat one sat outside two weeks even if it wasn't under a hot hen all that time :)