1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie alert!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Mintheweaver, Sep 16, 2012.

1. Mintheweaver

Mintheweaver New Egg

Sep 16, 2012
    Yeah, I am new to all this, I will be first to admit to my ignorance in many areas. I am not yet a chicken owner, but am hoping to be soon, I have already garnered my husband's approval and the acceptance of my neighbors on either side of us. We have a huge backyard which is currently being turned into raised garden beds and will be leaving the back end of the yard free for chicken coop/run. The entire yard is surrounded by 6 foot block walls. I also am a vermicomposter and so have worms to feed with, along with kitchen and garden scraps. I am primarily looking forward to egg production for my family

We live in Mesa, AZ and I have already looked up city regulations, etc. I would love advice from other Arizonans on chicken care, especially in the summer months. What breeds are best for a novice. I am planning on only a few birds, maybe just a couple to start.

Anyway, I will be checking out all the great information here, and learning as much as I can in the next few months, and I am looking forward to getting to know all of you!

Mindy

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    [​IMG][​IMG]

3. Mintheweaver

Mintheweaver New Egg

Sep 16, 2012
    Thanks!

4. NCGrammie

NCGrammie What's Cluckin'?!

Mar 14, 2012
    Pinnacle, NC