Newbie at raising chickens

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Grannys Peeps, Nov 3, 2016.

1. Grannys Peeps

Grannys Peeps Out Of The Brooder

Nov 3, 2016
    Arlington, Texas
    Hello, my name is Virginia Williams and I live in Arlington, Texas. This is my first time at 69 years old to raise chickens. I have 4 new babies about a week old now and love them so much. Grin... My boxer thinks they are his babies. [​IMG] I am so glad to find this site and know I will have lots of questions soon.

Happy Chickens are a must.

Virginia

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas. Virginia, and [​IMG]! Great to have you aboard - not just to BYC but to raising chickens!! It is truly a rewarding hobby! A great place to learn the ropes is the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center It is packed with informative articles covering the entire spectrum of chicken raising. You'll be most interested in the Raising Baby Chicks section initially, but you'll want to read ahead to the other sections as well - the housing, feeding, and maintenance of your flock. It is must read material. Additionally, if you'd like to get in touch with other Lone Star chicken folks, you can locate the TX thread in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you
    Thank you for joining BYC and we wish you the very best!! [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Virginia

Glad you could join us here! Congratulations on your new babies :clap Raising chicks sure is lots of fun and so very rewarding when you see them all grown up. It's something I enjoy very much and can't wait to get incubating again next spring!