Newbie: Barred Rocks???

Rayolamp

In the Brooder
8 Years
Sep 17, 2011
106918_100_1223.jpg

First time chicken owner! Got these little guys?/gals? Last weekend, was told they are Barred Rocks and 6 weeks old, now 7 if correct?
Thing is two of them are smaller and darker than the other two, plus the smaller ones seem to still be developing there feathers (molting?). Could I have 2 different breeds? The seller was less than informative. So I'm kind of guessing on everything.
Shure have been having a good time with them, very friendly chicks and fun to watch!

The two darker ones are males. So you have 2 pullets & 2 roos. Definitely barred rocks! Their feet will turn more yellow as they get older....

But, I'm no expert....see what the next person says.......

I think the two darker are pullets, barred rock roos are lighter than the hens. Barred roosters also have wider "bars" than the hens.

You definitely have 2 roos and 2 pullets

Actually with barred rocks your lighter colored ones are the males!! But those are not even light enough to be males. There legs are yellow with a black wash down the front from the begining so I'm not sure on the darker 2 cause their legs are pink. They could be marans!! Try to get some better pics close up!!

106918_100_1227.jpg

This is Gerty, follows me around like crazy and not camera shy! Other bird is almost identical.

106918_100_1226.jpg

These are the littler ones and now that I've looked at them closer there feet and legs do have a brownish tint to them! They are camera shy!

They all seem cheery and healthy. Gerty (pictured above) seems to be the dominant bird, pushes everyone out of the way at the feeder.

Those are all boys and the reason the guy wasnt being informative is cause he knew they were black sex link boys. I got caught by that before I knew better too. Bought 6 was suppose to be barred rocks 2 actually were 1 girl 1 boy the rest were BSL boys.

Guess it'll be hard getting them to lay eggs
sad.png