1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Newbie Chicken Owner

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Team Fluffy Puffy, May 8, 2011.

1. Team Fluffy Puffy

Team Fluffy Puffy Out Of The Brooder

May 8, 2011
    Hale Center
    What does it mean when a chicken keeps it's mouth open all the time?

2. LarryPQ

LarryPQ Easter Hatch!!

Jul 17, 2009
    [​IMG]

Perhaps the chicken is too hot, has gapeworm or something else wrong with the trachea, or has an issue with its jaw.

Can you be more descriptive, any other symptoms? Perhaps a clear, non-blurry picture?

3. benjoycei

benjoycei Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 4, 2011
    Wilmington
    I think it means it is hot. I'm not an expert by any means. But [​IMG] to BYC

4. Team Fluffy Puffy

May 8, 2011
    Hale Center
    I bet it was because it was hot because it was 95 here today. haha I thought it might be because they are thirsty but we put the water right in front of them and they wouldnt drink.

Thanks for the welcoming. lol

5. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Mrs. Fluffy Puffy Fluffy Feather Farm

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    Quote:Yes, chickens pant when they're hot.

~Aspen

6. Gardengirl 2011

Gardengirl 2011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2011
    Central Florida
    Then it's going to be one long summer here. One of mine (sometimes 2) seems to do that a lot. It's already been in the 90's and their coop/run is in the shade. Even in the sunniest part of the afternoon (around 3-5) they still have some shade. I have 2 araucana's and 1 barred rock.

7. WoodlandWoman

WoodlandWoman Overrun With Chickens

May 8, 2007
    Wisconsin