Newbie Construction Question - Inner Walls and Outer Walls

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kellyjeanne, Aug 23, 2016.

1. kellyjeanne

kellyjeanne Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2016
    Atlanta
    My Coop
    Hey all, so I'm both new at chickens and new at carpentry (I once built a beehive, but that was my only previous foray into carpentry, and bees are pretty darn forgiving).

Anyway, I am building from The Garden Coop plans which say to hang your henhouse siding BEFORE putting your "inner" plywood walls up so that you can caulk the siding and the chooks can't peck the caulk.

My question is - is there any reason I'm not thinking of (total newbie, so probably) not to hang the plywood first (then I can screw roosts and feed/water mounts directly in from the outside) - caulk the seams on the outside - and THEN hang the siding? Any advice super helpful. Thanks in advance!

As with prior post: coop update pic. DW was painting it a bit while I was out today getting darker roof panels.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Aug 23, 2016
  2. FridayYet

FridayYet Innocent Bystander

Mar 3, 2011
    The Land of Enchantment
    [​IMG]

This is how mine turned out. Well, it was almost done at the time, still needed the inner wall and nest boxes. Since I lived in a mild climate, I just used cedar fence pickets as siding and didn't caulk anything.

I don't see why you can't do it as you are suggesting, just make sure the chooks can't get to any caulk or sealant you might use.

3. kellyjeanne

Jul 19, 2016
    Atlanta
    My Coop