Newbie farm girl!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Newbie Farm Girl, Sep 25, 2011.

1. Newbie Farm Girl

Newbie Farm Girl New Egg

Sep 25, 2011
    Hi Everybody!! Nice to meet everyone!

The name's Kershawna. I'm new to this whole family farm thing. [​IMG]
    I grew up in the "big city" of Amarillo, Texas. [​IMG] hehe! Well, it's the big city for that area. [​IMG]
    I moved down to Wichita Falls to be with my husband, (BYC member, Flash534) Jeff.
    A funny thing is, he is originally from California, and I from Texas. He's the farm boy and I'm the city girl. *laughs*
    Anyway, we have a little section of land that we purchased a few years ago. We have finally moved out to the country!
    We have a little 6-acre family farm-in-progress. We have a lot of building and a lot of work to do, but we're excited!

After living out here since Nov of last year, we have built one chicken tractor and a 6x8 coop.
    We haven't had the best of luck so far, as we have had the weather with which to contend!!
    Apparently it has been the hottest summer with the worst drought conditions in over 100 years.
    That's just our luck. [​IMG] lol!!

We HAD a 30ft x 30ft plot of garden that all burned up in the scorching sun. [​IMG]

With chickens, we've had similar luck.

We began the year eager, and entirely too early it seems.
    My sweet husband wanted me to experience the hatching of our own eggs. [​IMG]
    We ordered 4 dozen from various hatcheries in mid-February.
    Upon time for delivery, we had an unusual snow-storm.
    Our friendly neighborhood postal carrier left the eggs on the porch in 30 degree weather for several hours before we got home from work.
    We were hopeful, so we still incubated them, only to be devastated 21 days later when not a single egg hatched.
    Second try... hopeful again, a new fresh start!! Eggs were delayed 3 weeks in delivery... to be delivered the weekend we were leaving town.