Newbie from Alabama. need help with chick

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thehainline5, Aug 1, 2013.

1. thehainline5

thehainline5 Out Of The Brooder

Jul 27, 2013
    Hello All.

I am fairly new to the chicken world. I have always wanted them and my husband finally said ok so I went for it. we have a coop with an additional runner added outside with 3 hens. 2 Dom's and 1 RIR. The Dom's are named Laverne and Shirley (lol I know) and the RIR is Rose. We had a Red Star. she was awesome. and My sons baby. One morning about 3 wks ago he went out to tend to them and found her dead in the coop [​IMG] Which led to me promising we would get a chick. Since we bought the hens as teenagers I wanted to experience a chick... that lead to getting two Silkies hatched June 26. The lady we got them from hatched them from an incubator. She was worried they werent true silkies and when I sent her a pic of them a week later she told me to come get two replacement chicks and I could keep the silkies. COOL! So off we went to get easter eggers. Well both my boys fell in love with an easter egger AND a sebright! oh my. Okay on to my help question. I have the silkies and the two small chicks well now just the sebright in the house. The small ones under a heat lamp. its only 50 watt red bulb. I originally got it for the silkies since they were older and didnt need much warmth. they seem to be okay with just some side warmth from it so i put it on the little ones. We have had them a week and this am the sebright was REALLY loud. So I went to check on her and the little adorable easter egger was dead! I have NO clue what happened! Now the sebright is chirping very very loudly and non stop. She stops if I hold her in my hands and cover her with them. HELP what should I do for her? Is she cold? Lonely?

thanks Shannon

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Mr MKK FARMS

Mr MKK FARMS Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 27, 2012