Newbie from Canberra, Australia

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Isobelm, Jan 17, 2015.

1. Isobelm

Isobelm Out Of The Brooder

Jan 17, 2015
    Canberra, Australia
    Hi Everyone!

My name's Bel and I'm new to chicken keeping, and Back Yard Chickens.com! I've been reading all sorts of wonderful information on here in my preparation/research for getting chickens and am so grateful for the wealth of knowledge that is available here! Thanks to everyone who has shared!

So to tell you a little more about myself and my chickens, this is the first time I've ever kept chickens, and so far I'm loving it! I am currently building my own coop with a Hobbit theme to it (because I'm a little crazy about hobbits too!), which will house my 5 new babies (4 weeks old today!), Mirabella Brandybuck (Australorp), Esmeralda Took (Silver laced Wyandotte), Goldilocks Gamgee (Gold laced Wyandotte) and Rosie Cotton and Angelica Baggins (both light Sussex'). I also have a dog and a cat, so it's been very interesting making sure all the kids get along!

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG][​IMG]

[​IMG]

When I'm not getting clucky over my chickens, I am working in IT as a business analyst and project manager, and studying wedding and event planning. I also like cake decorating, sewing, building things and camping!

I look forward to meeting you all and continuing my learning journey with my beautiful girls!

Bel

2. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    G'day and a pleasure to meet you Bel. I had a feeling you were a Hobbit fan, love the names of your chickens. I was just thinking maybe they could come up with prequels like "Young Gandalf," etc. I'm not ready for it to end. We have a large Aussie community on here, and always room for more. Plus a thread "Australia, six states and one funny little island." Hope you will enjoy backyard chickens as much as we do.

1 person likes this.
  3. Michael OShay