Newbie from Central New Mexico

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Lute, Feb 29, 2012.

1. Lute

Lute Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2012
    Socorro, NM
    The state, not the country. [​IMG]You have no idea how many people don't realize there's a state called NEW Mexico.

I've been a rather bad newbie. I posted a bunch of other places before posting here. Oops... [​IMG]

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    Not new to chickens at all! I lived on a small farm when I was a child but that was a long time ago now. This is my first time with my own chickens. It's my boyfriend's first time with chickens (that's not already on the grill) also!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    We currently have 6 chickens and 4 Pekins -- 2 that are ducklings and 2 that are 7 months old, a breeding pair, that should be laying very soon since it's starting to warm up!

(3) What breeds do you have?
    5 Black Star sexlinks and 1 New Hampshire Red. I named her Rosie. She likes to be picked up. <3

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    I lurked for a few days before joining. I actually found you guys by googling Chicken Coop designs.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    Reading, Writing, Stargazing, beer brewing and making cheese. I'm such a homemaker. [​IMG]

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.