Newbie from KC Missouri coming out of lurkdom.....

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by KaFox, Aug 19, 2013.

1. KaFox

KaFox Out Of The Brooder

Aug 17, 2013
    Sibley, Mo.
    Hello all you wonderful poultry people....I have been spending so much time on this wonderful site the last couple months and am finally taking the plunge tomorrow and getting 6 started pullets 2 Buff Orpingtons, 2 Barred Rocks, & 2 Rhode Island Reds from a friend of my hubbys. We have finally finished the coop and run and brooder and I'm working on a seperate pen/coop for future needs. I will create an album with pics of the "Coop de Ville" at some point.
    I have succumbed to the addiction wholeheartedly! Dragging my dear hubby with me!
    I am new to chickens so I'm sure I will have tons of questions which hopefully I post in the right sub forums. I am particularly interested in Large Fowl Heritage Breeds and have a particular fondness for Orpingtons and Brahmas so will try to focus on those 2 breeds..... BUT there are so many other wonderful breeds, I can see how it would be hard to limit oneself to just a few....we shall see.
    I love the concept of raising animals as naturally as possible and have learned a lot from that thread....I have started colonies in our spare bedroom of meal worms and super worms ....and have a bucket of fermenting food started in there as well...my hubby thinks I even more nuts then usual!
    Well lets see....other hobbies I enjoy are gardening and jewelry making. I love country life and living off the land and as simply as possible. We have 2 horses, and a dog and tomorrow 6 pullets....OH I forgot to mention the chicken math has already started!
    I am expecting 12 Lavender Orpington chicks from a local breeder in 21 ish days and am going to go look at some adult Light Brahmas this weekend....so will be posting a bunch more soon.
    Thanks everyone in advance,

Kelly

2. BantamFan4Life